top of page

Board of Health

NCHD is governed by an eight-member Board of Health whose function is to select and employ the public health director, adopt local health ordinances, rules and regulations, adopt the annual budget, and serve in an advisory role to the public health director.

Membership includes one commissioner from each of our six counties, as well as one community member from our two largest counties, Logan and Morgan. ​

Board Members:

Mike Brownell
Logan County Commissioner
Gisele Jefferson
Washington County Commissioner​
Mike Leerar
Yuma County Commissioner​
Ronald Berges
Sedgwick County Commissioner 

NCHD's Board of Health reviewing previous meetings minutes at the September 2016 meeting. 

Terry Hofmeister, Secretary
Phillips County Commissioner​
Mark Arndt
Morgan County Commissioner
Samantha Mahaffey
Logan County Representative ​
Dr. Kevin Lindell
Morgan County Representative

2023  Board of Health Meeting Dates

Most meetings are held on the fourth Wednesday of the month at 1 p.m. via a hybrid format of in person at NCHD's district headquarters, 700 Columbine St. Sterling and virtually by zoom. 

January 25, 2023

February 22, 2023

March 22, 2023

April 26, 2023

May 24, 2023

June 28, 2023

July- No Meeting

August 23, 2023

September 27, 2023

October 25, 2023

November - No Meeting

December 13, 2023

If you are interested in joining a Board meeting via Zoom, please contact Michelle Pemberton by email at or

call 970-522-3741 ext. 1239

bottom of page